Everyday

Starts and Stops

I’ve done a lot of starting and stopping lately. Not just in writing, but in life. It’s been a whirlwind of chaos since April. We’ve had a wonderful parade of visitors stay with us, moved houses locally, changed jobs, gone to high school soccer tournaments, said sad farewells to friends, and lost a beloved grandfather. I’ve made two trips back to the US five weeks apart. My points/mileage accrual game is strong this year. It’s been a few months of highs and lows, and everything in-between.

I always have the best intentions when it comes to writing. Some days, I write more words on the screen than I speak in person. Other days, the writing shrivels up into a tiny, dried up crusty thing in need of desperate rehydration. When I started “Romananigans” in 2015, we had just moved to Germany. My initial intent was to chronicle our travels as we romped our way through Europe for two years. Mostly so I can remember the story straight when I rehash it for the millionth times to my kids in 20 years. I can barely remember where I put my keys, so odds are pretty high my memory will be the first thing to go.

The blog has morphed into a safe space for me. I tend to be a private person who overthinks things way too much. This has become a place where I can just let the wall down and just spill out onto the page. And for that, I thank you for letting me share my space with you. I’m hoping to branch out more and cover more topics as they pop up, so I have a feeling it will grow and morph into something else. There are stories and parts of my life I haven’t really opened up about which are finally ready to be written and shared. I promise it’s nothing overly dramatic (although, with creative license, I’m sure I could make it uber dramatic just for effect) — rather, experiences I’ve kept close for the better part of 18 years. It’s time for me to start letting you in and stop closing the door. So let’s go.

 

Leave a comment