Everyday

A new year.

It’s that time of year again. We wipe the slate clean and make hopeful promises — to lose the weight, to eat better, to be more present, to become better versions of ourselves, and to eventually see those promises unravel and come crashing back to reality.

I don’t usually make resolutions. I know that I won’t stick to them. I know that starting the slate clean is great in theory, but things held over from the previous year don’t magically disappear, even though I really wish they would sometimes.

2016 was a rough year. The music and screen world lost sparks of genius. Loved ones, both human and furry, made their treks back home. The political climate is ridiculously unstable and unpredictable. We’ve seen the rise of far-right, borderline-fascism not just in far away countries, but in our own backyard. When the clock struck midnight, it didn’t wipe the slate clean. It acknowledged that we have a lot of work to do and a lot to overcome in 2017.

My non-resolution resolutions are simple: Be kind, be strong, be resilient. Be kind to others, but strong enough to stand up for myself and for those who cannot. If life goes awry, to be resilient enough to change and adapt without compromising my morals and myself. To be kind to myself and my family, to be strong for them and be resilient when you get knocked down.

Welcome to the party, 2017. We’re just getting started.

Leave a Reply

